By DebbieH 04 Oct 2012 7 min read

The Winners: The Yorkshire Lawyer Awards 2012

Deserving winners of the Yorkshire Lawyer Awards 2012 celebrated in style this week (3 October) at Saviles Hall in Leeds, where the county’s top legal talent gathered to enjoy a great night’s entertainment.

Congratulations go to James Haddleton, executive partner at DWF LLP who was crowned Yorkshire Lawyer of the Year, and to Barrister of the Year Simon Bourne-Arton of New Park Court Chambers. The high profile President’s Award went to Sir Harry Ognall.

Winner of the Law Firm of the Year (31+ Partners) was DLA Piper, with Stewarts Law LLP highly commended. was the proud sponsor of this award category. The Chambers of the Year Award went to New Park Court Chambers (pictured).

New legal talent coming through was also celebrated with Michael Lawlor of DLA Piper named Rising Star, and Helen Delaney Gill of Nabarro LLP taking the Trainee Solicitor Award.

Below is a full list of the winners. Congratulations to all from Simply Law Jobs, and well done to the organisers and sponsors for hosting such a memorable night.


Barrister of the Year

Winner: Simon Bourne-Arton

New Park Court Chambers

Highly Commended: Paul Isaacs

Broadway House Chambers

Sponsor: IntaForensics


Chambers of the Year

Winner: New Park Court Chambers

Highly Commended: St Pauls Chambers

Sponsor: Anakin Seal Legal


Managing Partner of the Year

Winner: Paul Ayre – Gordons LLP

Highly Commended: Peter Gibson

Coles Solicitors

Sponsor: Prime Professions


Law Firm (1- 10 Partners)

Winner: Wosskow Brown Solicitors

Highly Commended: Pinkney

Grunwells Lawyers LLP

Sponsor: Prime Legal Costs


Law Firm (11 – 30 Partners)

Winner: Switalskis Solicitors LLP

Highly Commended: Clarion & Schofield Sweeney

Sponsor: New Park Court Chambers


Law Firm (31 + Partners)

Winner: DLA Piper

Highly Commended: Stewarts Law LLP

Sponsor: Simply Law Jobs


Commercial Property Award

Winner: Walker Morris – Real Estate Team

Highly Commended: DAC Beachcroft

Sponsor: Property Search Group


Dispute Resolution Award

Winner: Squire Sanders

Dispute Resolution Team

Highly Commended: DLA Piper

Sponsor: New Park Court Chambers


Rising Star

Winner: Michael Lawlor – DLA Piper

Highly Commended: Laura Smith

Ramsdens Solicitors

Sponsor: Searchflow


Private Client Award

Winner: Gordons LLP

Highly Commended: Duncan Milwain

Lupton Fawcett LLP

Sponsor: Towry


Niche Law Firm

Winner: Unity Law

Highly Commended: Woods Whur

Sponsor: Ellis Bates Group


Corporate & Commercial Award

Winner: DLA Piper

Corporate & Commercial Team

Highly Commended: Alisor Starr – Pinsent Masons

Sponsor: Groundsure Ltd


Enterprise Award

Winner: Neil Hudgell Solicitors

Highly Commended: James Love Legal

Sponsor: The University of Huddersfield


Corporate Recovery Award

Winner: Squire Sanders

Corporate Recovery Team

Highly Commended: DLA Piper

Sponsor: CapeClarke Legal Recruitment


Trainee Solicitor Award

Winner: Helen Delaney Gill – Nabarro LLP

Highly Commended: Irfan Rashid – Atteys Solicitors

Sponsor: Parklane Plowden


Yorkshire Lawyer of the Year

Winner: James Haddleton – DWF

Sponsor: Am Trust Law


Presidents Award

Winner: Sir Harry Ognall

Sponsor: Am Trust Law